In 1000 km race – 2 women teams

The 20th 1000km race is taking place on 17-20th of July in Palanga. A separate section of each year’s race highlights is dedicated to the big celebration.

Difficult to find similarities

No one can tell that in the history of the racing world there could be 2 races similar to each other. 14th and 15th races have only one similarity- winning teams were Lithuanian.

2013 winners “General Financing-Autopaslauga“ team members Nemunas and Nerijus Dagilis and Benediktas Vanagas were driving “Porsche 911 GT3“.

After one the year 1000 km race won Jonas and Ignas Gelžinis as well as Edvinas Arkušauskas (team “Liqui Moly Racing Team Lithuania“) driving “BMW E90 Edva“.

The similar number of participants

After years of the 1000km race, one thing started to be steady – the number of participants.

In 2013 there were 38 teams (132 sportsmen) from 7 countries: Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Belgium, Great Britain, and Russia. There was a crowd of 80 thousand people watching the event.

In 2014 there were 43 teams, however, from various corners of the world. Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Belgium, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Germany, Sweden, Spain, the USA, Belarus, and Russia.

Big changes on the track...

The 15th race in 2014 faces the most changes in the history of the 1000km race. The first time the race took place on newly covered track which resulted in one lap shortening to 2682 meters. Thus, teams had to drive not the usual 334 laps but 373.

...and in the race

2014 race got into history not only because of the track changes, for the first time in the history of 1000 km race finished earlier than the planned time limit. When the race was coming to the end, the car accident happened which brought fear into everyone’s eyes. Luckily, no one got seriously hurt. 3 teams have crashed and even though the parts of the cars were quickly gathered, the safety of other drivers was at risk. Thus, the race has to be stopped.

Changes in record tables

A new track means new records. The fastest lap won Latvian Konstantinas Calko driving in 1 minute 07,046 seconds. No one had beaten this score up to this day.

Women who changed the racing event

Many news were presented in 2013 and 2014 races, however, the biggest highlights were women teams.

For the first time in 2014, two women teams participated in the race: “Kas tas Blue Sheep?“ and “Sostena Renault GSR-Sport Team“.

“Blue Sheep“ finished 24th and “Sostena Renault GSR-Sport Team“ 33rd.

It does not matter which place the teams took. The most important point that women team opened doors and encouraged more women to participate.